FEDERAL ENERGY REGULATORY COMMISSION

WASHINGTON, D. C. 20426 September 15, 2009

OFFICE OF ENERGY PROJECTS

Project No. 13212-001 and 13211-001

– Alaska
Grant Lake/Falls Creek Hydroelectric
Project
Kenai Hydro, L.L.C.

Steve Gilbert, Manager Kenai Hydro, L.L.C. 6921 Howard Avenue Anchorage, AK 99504

RE: Section 106 Consultation Authorization

Dear Mr. Gilbert:

In the letter filed August 6, 2009, you requested that we grant permission for you to initiate Section 106 consultation on our behalf. By copy of this letter, we are authorizing Kenai Hydro L.L.C. to initiate consultation with the Alaska State Historic Preservation Officers, appropriate Native American tribes, Chugach National Forest, and other consulting parties, pursuant to 36 CFR § 800.2(c)(4) of the regulations implementing Section 106 of the National Historic Preservation Act. This consultation pertains to the original licensing effort by Kenai Hydro, L.L.C. involving the Grant Lake/Falls Creek Hydroelectric Project located on the Kenai Peninsula, near the community of Moose Pass, Alaska.

We are granting authorization to Kenai Hydro, L.L.C. in order for them to conduct day-to-day section 106 consultation responsibilities in regards to the above proposed project; however, the Commission remains ultimately responsible for all findings and determinations.

2

If you have any questions, please contact Joseph C. Adamson at 202-502-8085, or by email at joseph.adamson@ferc.gov with any questions or comments.

Sincerely,

Jennifer Hill, Chief Hydro West Branch

cc: Mailing List Service List

> Judith Bittner State Historic Preservation Officer 550 West Seventh Avenue, Suite 1310 Anchorage, AK 99801-3565

John Fowler, Executive Director Advisory Council on Historic Preservation 1100 Penn. Ave., NW, Suite 809 Washington, DC 20004

Karen O'Leary Chugach National Forest 3301 C Street, Suite 300 Anchorage, AK 99503

Dorothy Cook, President Native Village of Eklutna 26339 Eklutna Village Road Chugiak, AK 99567

Richard Greg Encelewski, President Ninilchik Traditional Council P.O. Box 39070 Ninilchik, AK 99639 Penny Carty, President Salamatof Native Association, Inc. P.O. Box 2682 Kenai, AK 99611

Vernon Stanford, Chair Kenai Natives Association, Inc. 2115 Fidalgo Avenue, Suite 101 Kenai, AK 99611-7776

Margaret L. Brown, President Cook Inlet Region, Inc. P.O. Box 93330 Anchorage, AK 99509-3330

Sheri D. Buretta, Chairman of the Board Chugach Alaska Corporation 3800 Centerpoint Drive, Suite 601 Anchorage, AK 99503

Charles W. Totemoff, President Chenega Corporation 3000 C Street, Suite 301 Anchorage, AK 99503

Dianne McRae, President Qutekcak Native Tribe P.O. Box 1467 Seward, AK 99664

Jaylene Peterson-Nyren, Director Kenaitze Indian Tribe P.O. Box 988 Kenai, AK 99611

Brad Zubeck, Project Engineer Kenai Hydro, L.L.C. 280 Airport Way Kenai, AK 99611

Document Content(s)	
P-13212-001Letter3.DOC1-	- 3

20090915-3017 FERC PDF (Unofficial) 09/15/2009